Champions Lincoln City dominate PFA League Two Team of the Year

Recently crowned champions Lincoln City make up the backbone of the Professional Footballers’ Association League Two Team of the Year 2019.

In a selection that illustrates the defensive quality in the Imps squad, central defender Jason Shackell and the full-backs Neal Eardley and Harry Toffolo all made the team voted for by their fellow professionals. Fifteen goal striker John Akinde made up the quartet of Lincoln players in the side.

Mansfield Town’s strong challenge for automatic promotion has been recognised by the inclusion of dominant defender Krystian Pearce and Tyler Walker, the young on-loan Nottingham Forest striker who has bagged twenty-one league goals for the Stags.

Bury, who have won many plaudits this campaign for their attractive attacking football, also feature strongly with skilful midfield duo Danny Major and Jay O’Shea making the cut along with goalkeeper Joe Murphy.

The PFA eleven is completed by Tranmere Rovers prolific goalscorer James Norwood who has netted an impressive twenty-seven times in the league this season along with Forest Green’s talented midfielder Reece Brown.

MK Dons are the only team out of the five teams left chasing the two remaining automatic promotion places who have no representation in the eleven.

The players will be honoured at the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 28.

PFA League Two Team of the Year 2019: Joe Murphy (Bury); Neal Eardley (Lincoln), Jason Shackell (Lincoln), Krystian Pearce (Mansfield), Harry Toffolo (Lincoln); Danny Mayor (Bury), Jay O’Shea (Bury), Reece Brown (Forest Green); James Norwood (Tranmere), John Akinde (Lincoln), Tyler Walker (Mansfield)

Our View

Deserved recognition for Lincoln City after many of their supporters felt their players and manager were both snubbed in the recent EFL awards voted for by the league’s managers.

It is always a great honour to be recognised by your fellow professionals and there can be few arguments with the team they have picked.

Lincoln’s Bostwick and Andrade, Mansfield’s Preston and Bishop, Bury’s Maynard, Grimsby’s keeper Mckeown and Crewe right-back Ng have all had great seasons and are amongst many players not included who will be disappointed.

MK Dons supporters will also no doubt be wondering how, with thirty-seven goals between them, Chucks Aneke and Kieran Agard both missed out.

However, all in all, I think the players of League Two have just about got it right.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.